clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Bundesliga Open Thread

New, comments

Football is back.

Bundesliga Resumes Season After Nationwide Lockdown Due To The Ongoing Coronavirus Crisis Photo by Andreas Rentz/Getty Images

As I’m sure you know, the Bundesliga returns to action after its two-month long coronavirus-forced hiatus. That’s a long time, essentially a summer break’s worth of time without football. I don’t know about you, but I’m jonesing for a football fix, even if it isn’t a league that I closely watched before the world was turned upside down.

I’d guess that across our community, we have differing ideas about reopening and whether football should or should not return at this juncture (Aidan wrote about it yesterday). I’d ask that today, in this thread, we put that aside and not talk about it. Regardless of where you come down, we’ve missed football and the temporary distraction, even if only for a few hours, will hopefully be a nice mental break from the incessant emotions of the past two months. Let’s please keep the comments as a place for people to watch and enjoy the matches in peace.

If you’re watching (I definitely will be), here’s a spot for y’all to do it together and comment on the matches. And because we still are an Arsenal site, which Bundesliga team do you think is most like our Gunners? Any players in particular that you’d (reasonably) like to see Sanllehi, Edu & Co. bring to North London?

Bundesliga Saturday schedule

Borussia Dortmund (2nd) vs. Schalke (6th)
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), BT Sport 1 (UK)
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass

RB Leipzig (3rd) vs. Freiburg (8th)
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 2 (USA), BT Sport 2 (UK)
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass

Hoffenheim (9th) vs. Hertha Berlin (13th)
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: not televised (USA), BT Sport 3 (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Fortuna Dusseldorf (16th) vs. Paderborn (18th)
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: not televised (USA), BT Sport Extra (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Augsburg (14th) vs. Wolfburg (7th)
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Soccer Plus, not televised (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Eintracht Frankfurt (12th) vs. Borussia Monchengladbach (4th)
12:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. BST / 6:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 1, BT Sport 1
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass