clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal at Manchester United lineups, game thread: we all used to be somebody

New, comments

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Aerial photograph of Old Trafford, Home of Manchester United football club Photograph by David Goddard/Getty Images

You know, 20 years ago, this game and this rivalry had some bite to it. The two best teams in the league, both at the top of their games, squaring off to stay top; neither team liked the other, most of the players couldn’t stand each other, and there was always something extra about these matches that brought a lot of heat and fun to the Premier League’s earliest years.

Now, though, it’s different. The glory eras of both teams have faded away, and both are trying to get back to their best, back to that point where they’re once again the cream of the crop. But for now, this is a battle for who belongs in fourth or fifth place; the table doesn’t really matter at this point of the season, but if Arsenal win, they’ll go joint third with Leicester City, while keeping United in 11th. More importantly, a win would set down a marker that Arsenal are serious about this whole getting-back-to-where-they-should-be thing.

WHAT: Arsenal at Manchester United

WHERE: Old Trafford

WHEN: Monday, September 30th 12:00 PM PT | 3:00 PM ET | 8:00 PM BST

US TV: NBCSN. Streaming here.

Check out livesoccer.tv for all your international streaming needs. As always, please do not discuss links to illegal streams here.

The Short Fuse has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Vox Media may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links.

WHO: