clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal at Eintracht Frankfurt: the Europa League campaign begins

New, comments

And they start with a tough opponent.

Arsenal Travel to Germany for the UEFA Europa League Match Against Eintracht Frankfurt Photo by David Price/Arsenal FC via Getty Images

The Gunners kick off their European season with an away match against Eintracht Frankfurt.

Arsenal didn’t have to fly all the way to Baku this time, which will be better for the team’s internal clocks and general sharpness, but don’t expect this game to be a walk in the park. Eintracht are currently 9th in the Bundesliga—perhaps worse than they deserve, considering their habit of scoring in huge bunches this season. Arsenal’s defence will have to be diligent, especially on set pieces with the 6’5” forward Bas Dost on the pitch.

The Gunners will want to avoid a repeat of the play that cost them two points against Watford last weekend, and to that end, they might get a bit of defensive help—Rob Holding is available to play today, for the first time since tearing his ACL last season. Hector Bellerin, Kieran Tierney, and Dinos Mavropanos are all still out, as is Alexandre Lacazette at the other end of the pitch.

For Eintracht, Gonçalo Paciência and Sebastian Rode are doubtful, and Mijat Gacinovic, Jonathan de Guzman, and Marco Russ are all out.

WHAT: Arsenal at Eintracht Frankfurt

WHERE: Commerzbank-Arena, Frankfurt, Germany

WHEN: Thursday, September 19th 9:55 AM PT | 12:55 PM ET | 5:55 PM BST

BROADCAST: In Spanish on UniMas. English streaming on B/R Live ($$$).

For all your international streaming needs, check out livesoccer.tv. As always, please do not discuss links to illegal streams here.

LINEUPS: