clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal v. Tottenham Hotspur: Derby day!

New, comments

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Arsenal FC v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images

It only happens twice most years, but these games are always a highlight on the fixture list and one of the first places the eyes go when the list is released over the summer. This year, the home leg is first - Tottenham come to the Emirates today, and then Arsenal don’t see them again until March, by which time hopefully there will be a battle going on for third place.

But today, the battle is just for the usual - three points and bragging rights. Spurs are starting a bit slower than they did last season, so this is a definite chance for Arsenal to remind them how many teams are in North London (HINT: one). Whether they’ll step up and take that chance, though...that’s the question, isn’t it?

I know these things mean a lot more to the supporters than the players - players come and go, while we’re always around - but even modern day, transitory players understand what’s at stake in games like this. Arsenal haven’t been good at seizing big chances in the last few seasons, but hopefully this will be the first of many to come this season.

WHAT:
Arsenal vs Tottenham Hotspur

WHEN:
Sunday, August 31st, 4:30pm BST/11:30am EST/8:30am PST

WHERE:
Emirates Stadium, London

US TV/STREAMING: NBCSN
The Short Fuse has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Vox Media may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links.

WORLDWIDE: Check livesoccer.tv for all your streaming needs. Please do not discuss links to illegal streams here.

WHO: