clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Valencia: Europa League Final or bust

New, comments

The Gunners have a 3-1 lead and a chance to play in Baku later this month.

Arsenal FC v Brighton & Hove Albion - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Arsenal are in Valencia for the second leg of their Europa League semifinal, after winning the first leg at the Emirates 3-1.

An aggregate score of 3-1 in Arsenal’s favor means that the Gunners can advance with a loss by one to Valencia (or, obviously, anything better than that). They can also move on with a loss by two, as long as they score two goals today. Valencia need a 2-0 win or to beat Arsenal by three or more in order to make it to Baku for the final.

Arsenal’s away form in the Premier League has been less than stellar, but they haven’t really messed up in the Europa League since their first match against Rennes in the round of 16. Since then, they dismantled Napoli twice, and they came back after conceding an early goal to Valencia at home to win that match by two. If they play like that again, they should be good to go.

There are no new injuries for either side, so both teams should be at full strength.

WHAT: Arsenal at Valencia

WHERE: Mestalla Stadium, Valencia, Spain

WHEN: Thursday, May 9th 12:00 PM PDT | 3 PM EDT | 8 PM GMT

US TV: Univision (in Spanish). Streaming on B/R Live ($$$)

For all your international streaming needs, check out livesoccer.tv. As always, please do not discuss links to illegal streams here.

LINEUPS:

Arsenal:

Valencia: