clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Napoli: quarterfinals, part 2

New, comments

And this time, Arsenal have a two-goal lead to work with.

Arsenal Training and Press Conference Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

Arsenal are in Naples today for the second leg of their Europa League quarterfinal matchup.

In the previous two knockout rounds, Arsenal came into the second leg with a deficit, needing to beat their opponents in order to advance. This time they have a two-goal lead, and they kept a clean sheet at home, giving themselves the upper hand in any away goal tiebreakers.

The Gunners’ away form has been pretty bad this season, but their win at Watford on Monday suggests that they can, in fact, win away from home. It was a pretty cheap win, yes, but even that can boost a team’s confidence.

Here’s the math: if Napoli win by three goals or more, Arsenal are out. If Napoli win 2-0, there will be a period of extra time, in which the away goals tiebreaker rule applies. And if Arsenal win this game or lose by only one, then they move on to the semifinals.

WHAT: Arsenal at Napoli

WHERE: Stadio San Paolo, Napoli

WHEN: Thursday, April 18, 12PM PDT | 3PM EDT | 8PM GMT

US TV: B/R Live. Stream here. In Spanish: Univision.

For all your international streaming needs, be sure to check livesoccer.tv. As always, please do not discuss links to illegal streams here.

LINEUPS:

Arsenal:

Napoli: