clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Stade Rennes: go time

New, comments

The Gunners need to make another comeback if they want to advance.

Arsenal FC v Manchester United - Premier League Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

Arsenal welcome Stade Rennes to the Emirates for the second leg of their Europa League matchup, and the Gunners have a lot of work to do.

After a blip against BATE Borisov in the previous round, Arsenal went back to London and won the second leg 3-0, putting them through to the round of sixteen. In Rennes, they had more than a blip, losing to their Ligue 1 opponents 3-1, and they come home having to dig themselves out of another hole in order to advance to the quarterfinals.

If Arsenal win today’s match with a scoreline of 2-0, they’re moving on. 3-1 means extra time and then penalties, and if Rennes score more than one goal away from home, then Arsenal need to beat them by three.

Arsenal will play without Sokratis today after his double yellow sending off in the first leg—that’s not great for keeping Rennes from scoring away goals. But they will play with Alexandre Lacazette, so maybe beating Rennes by three is the way to go.

WHAT: Arsenal vs. Stade Rennes, UEFA Europa League round of 16

WHERE: Emirates Stadium, London

WHEN: Thursday, March 14, 1PM PDT | 4PM EDT | 8PM GMT (England isn’t on Summer Time yet)

US TV: Galavision (in Spanish), streaming on Bleacher Report Live ($$$)

For international streaming, check livesoccer.tv. As always, please don’t discuss links to illegal streams here.

LINEUPS:

Arsenal:

Rennes: