clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal at Standard Liège lineups, match thread: Closing the deal

New, comments
R. Standard de Liege v HNK Rijeka - UEFA Europa League Photo by Laurie Dieffembacq/Belga Photo/EuroFootball/Getty Images

Welcome to the last day of the Europa League group stage! Arsenal are top of their group right now, and safely through to the knockouts. An Arsenal win sees them finish first in the group, while a draw or a loss leaves first place up to the Eintracht Frankfurt result - if Arsenal don’t win and Frankfurt do, the Germans will finish top of the group.

If Standard Liège win today, they would be level on points with Arsenal. The first tiebreak is the most points between the two tied teams, so at that point, they’d drop to the second tiebreaker, which is GD between the tied teams.

Since Arsenal won 4-0 in the first match against Standard Liège, the Belgian side would have to beat Arsenal by five goals in order to overturn that GD advantage. So it’s technically possible that Arsenal could crash out of the Europa League today, but not very likely.

No matter what, Arsenal will be looking to build on the momentum they started to develop on Monday - it wasn’t a complete good game, but there was enough good in it that they should be able to bring some of that confidence into this game and get the win they need to top the group.

WHAT:
Arsenal at Standard Liege
Europa League group stage, matchday six

WHEN:
Thursday, December 13, 2019
9.55AM PT/12.55PM ET/5.55PM BT/6.55PM CET

WHERE:
Stade Maurice Dufrasne
Liège, Belgium

HOW:
US TV: UniMás (Spanish language broadcast)
US Stream: Bleacher Report Live ($)
Worldwide info: Check livesoccer.tv for info in your area

WHO: