clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aubameyang becomes fastest Arsenal player to 25 goals

Arsenal’s record signing has lived up to his billing in his first year at the Emirates

Arsenal v Manchester United - FA Cup Fourth Round Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

While there was plenty to talk about following Tuesday’s entertaining slate of matches, one notable piece of Arsenal history was made during the Gunner’s 2-1 victory over Cardiff City, as Pierre Emerick Aubameyang became Arsenal’s fastest player to score 25 goals, edging out such Arsenal legends as Ian Wright and Thierry Henry.

Scoring from the penalty spot in the 66th minute, Aubameyang managed to accomplish in just 37 matches what it took the legendary Henry 42 matches to do. No matter how you view it, the accomplishment is impressive.

Despite being viewed as a something of a pacey poacher who primarily scored break-aways or tap-ins while transferring to Arsenal from Borussia Dortmund, Aubameyang has been a revelation at Arsenal so far, showing that he can score from a wide array of angles and distances, as evidenced by his emphatic curler from outside of the box against Tottenham in November’s North London Derby.

Although he has lost a little of the speed that helped him become a goal scoring threat in the Bundesliga, Aubameyang’s nose for goal has given the Gunners an edge that they have lacked in recent years, becoming an irreplaceable asset to the Gunners’ domestic and cup campaigns.

Adding to the impressiveness of the accolade is the fact that Auba has managed to reach the milestone while often being deployed out wide this season instead of centrally to accommodate the inclusion of fellow striker/current BFF Alexandre Lacazette. Regardless of his position, Aubameyang has found a way to bang in goals when needed.

Currently, the Gabonese striker sits one goal off the top spot for the race for the Golden Boot with 15 goals in the Premier League, one behind Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah and one ahead of Tottenham striker Harry Kane, both recent winners of the Golden Boot.