clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Fulham: time to bounce back

New, comments

The Gunners really shouldn’t wait any longer to get back to winning ways.

Liverpool FC v Arsenal FC - Premier League Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Arsenal welcome their neighbors to the Emirates for a New Year’s Day match.

The Gunners have a stellar home record against Fulham (won 23, drawn 5) and they’ll want to continue that tradition today—to bounce back from their defeat against Liverpool, to start collecting points again, to start 2019 off the right way, and what not.

Fulham also need those points—they’re in a relegation scrap, and with results improving under new manager Claudio Ranieri, Arsenal need to take them seriously. We should see a similar lineup to the one that played against Liverpool; the last thing the Gunners should do here is back off.

No one was injured during Arsenal’s game against Liverpool, so that’s good, but with only two days of rest between then and now, no one has gotten healthier, either. Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Dinos Mavropanos, and Emile Smith Rowe, all with longer-term injuries, are still out at this point, and Mesut Özil, Hector Bellerin, Nacho Monreal, and Skhodran Mustafi are doubtful.

Fulham, meanwhile, are missing only Alfie Mawson, who has a knee injury, and Calum Chambers, who is ineligible to play against his parent club.

WHAT:

Arsenal v. Fulham, Premier League

WHERE:

Emirates Stadium, London

WHEN:

Wednesday, January 1, 2019, 7AM PST | 10AM EST | 3PM GMT

US TV: NBCSN, stream here

If you’re not in the US, go to livesoccer.tv for streaming information.

LINEUPS:

Arsenal:

Fulham: