clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FA Cup open thread

New, comments

Just because Arsenal’s not in it doesn’t mean it’s not happening.

Yeovil Town v Manchester United - The Emirates FA Cup Fourth Round Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images

Some of the best albums from 1996 include:

- Odelay - Beck
- New Adventures in Hi-Fi - REM
- All Eyez On Me - Tupac Shakur
- Beats, Rhymes, And Life - A Tribe Called Quest
- Murder Ballads - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Some of the best films from 1996? Sure!

- Fargo
- Trainspotting
- Independence Day
- Mars Attacks
- Big Night

Best books of 1996? Got you covered there too!

- Angela’s Ashes - Frank McCourt
- Infinite Jest (aka That Book You Own And Will Never Read And Probably Shouldn’t) - David Foster Wallace
- Into The Wild - Jon Krakauer
- Fight Club - Chuck Pahlaniuk
- Primary Colors - Anonymous (Joe Klein)

Yeah, 1996 was quite the year. It was also the last year in which Arsenal was not involved in the FA Cup after the third round, until this year. But somehow, sans Arsenal, the Cup runneth on.

Nottingham Forest, Arsenal’s vanquisher, face Hull City in a game untelevised in the US, but the following games will be available here:

SATURDAY:
Peterborough United v. Leicester City, 4.30AM PT/7.30AM ET (Fox Sports 1)
Wigan United v. West Ham United, 7AM PT/10AM ET (Fox Sports 2)
Newport County v. Tottenham, 9.30AM PT/12.30PM ET (Fox Sports 1)
Liverpool v. West Brom, 11.45AM PT/2.45PM ET (Fox Sports 2)

SUNDAY:
Chelsea v. Newcastle United, 5.30AM PT/8.30AM ET (FS1)
Cardiff City v. Manchester City, 7.45AM PT/10.45AM ET (FS2)

(Not in the US? Check out livesoccer.tv for viewing info in your area)

So even with no Arsenal, there’s FA Cup fun to be had. Why not hang out here while you’re watching the games? There are also, of course, other games as well - Borussia Dortmund, featuring a certain Arsenal target, play Saturday morning, Real Madrid play Valencia, and PSG play oh who am I kidding nobody cares about the French league.

Anyway, there’s lots of soccer this weekend; why not watch it with us?