clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cannon Fodder and International Open Thread: Guess who's back

New, comments

News, links, and the international open thread for Wednesday, June 8, 2016.

Alex Menendez/Getty Images

Hi folks! Thanks to Paul for looking after the shop while I was away. Today sees the Copa America back in action. But first, the news:

USA vs. Costa Rica, Copa America 2016: Final score 4-0, Big first half keys USMNT win - Stars and Stripes FC
The United States dodged an early haymaker and won the match.

USA vs. Costa Rica, Copa America 2016: Full Match Highlights - Stars and Stripes FC
Watch the exciting moments again.

Bellerin gets third cap in poor Spain defeat | Daily Cannon
Hector Bellerin was a halftime substitute in Spain’s last game before the Euros but could not stop his side losing, embarrassingly, to Georgia.

Watch: Ospina makes brilliant save | Daily Cannon
David Ospina made a quite brilliant save for his country against Paraguay in the Copa America.

Does The Premier League’s Heavy Euro 2016 Presence Make It The ‘Best League In The World™’?
Much has been made of the fact that around 25 percent of the players who will be at Euro 2016 will represent English league clubs, the vast majority of them from the Premier League. There will be twice as many as from the Bundesliga and almost four times as many as those from La Liga and Liga Adelante.

Kos: New players will allow us to reach another level | Daily Cannon
Laurent Koscielny believes that some new players at Arsenal next season will allow the club to reach another level as they look to go one step further in the league than they did last season.

Xhaka on facing his brother at the Euros | Daily Cannon
Granit Xhaka is set to face his brother, Taulant, when the Euros kick-off with Switzerland and Albania both in Group A.

FC Lampedusa offers far more than football to refugees in Germany
To those playing for FC Lampedusa in Hamburg, football provides more than a respite from daily life. It often gives these refugees hope.

Mia Hamm, Mallory Pugh and the bright USWNT future
It's not a stretch to say watching Mia Hamm play altered the lives of many young fans. It's also likely watching young Mallory Pugh make many feel the same.

Former Nigeria captain and coach Stephen Keshi dies at 54
Stephen Keshi, Nigerian soccer's charismatic "Big Boss" who won African Cup titles as both captain and coach of his country, died early Wednesday. He was 54.

Ronaldo and Muller and Griezmann: Euro 2016 top-scorer race wide open - ESPN FC
Who will win the Golden Boot at Euro 2016? For the first time in a long time, the answer isn't so clear, writes Miguel Delaney.

Ronaldo gears up for Euro 2016 in the only way he knows how - Goal.com
The Portugual star has been taking time out to enjoy a well-earned break after winning the Champions League and invited a Colombian model along while in Ibiza

And the Copa:

BRAZIL v HAITI
Group B
Camping World Stadium | Orlando, FL
7:30pm ET | 6:30pm CT | 5:30pm MT | 12:30am GMT | 4:30pm PT
TV: Fox Sports 1/Univision

ECUADOR v PERU
Group B
University of Phoenix Stadium | Glendale, AZ
10:00pm ET | 9:00pm CT | 8:00pm MT | 3:00am GMT | 7:00pm PT
TV: Fox Sports 2/Univision