clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dinamo Zagreb vs. Arsenal: Champions League preview and prediction

New, comments

Arsenal's first match of the Champions League will be in front of a very hostile and intimidating setting

Paul Gilham/Getty Images

Dinamo Zagreb vs. Arsenal
UEFA Champions League, group stage
Wednesday, September 16th, 2015
Stadion Maksimir, Zagreb, Croatia
Kickoff: 2:45 pm EDT / 1:45 pm CDT / 11:45 am PDT

Arsenal travel to Croatia tomorrow to start their 2015-16 Champions League campaign versus a Dinamo Zagreb side that haven't lost in 41 straight matches in all competitions.

This isn't the first time the Gunners have faced off versus The Blues. In 2006, the two sides were drawn against each other in a Champions League qualifier that saw Arsenal through to the group stages, and also exposed Arsene Wenger to a Brazilian-born Croatian forward for that Zagreb side that he would purchase a year later: Eduardo da Silva (that team also had Luka Modric in it, as well).

Gaining a point under the night sky in Zagreb, in front of their Bad Blue Boys, will be a commendable result for Arsenal, especially since it's widely-expected Bayern Munich will walk away with three points in Athens, versus Olympiacos. However, given the amount of chances they've created so far in the early start to the league season, there are quite a few observers who'll expect Arsenal to win all available points - regardless of Zagreb's, and forward Angelo Henríquez's (25 goals in the last 31 matches), form.

Prediction: Dinamo Zagreb 1-1 Arsenal