clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. West Ham: Live coverage and score updates

New, comments

Off we go!

Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

Arsenal vs. West Ham
English Premier League
Sunday, August 9, 2015
2.30AM HT/5.30AM PT/6.30AM MT/7.30AM CT/8.30AM ET/11AM Newfoundland/1.30PM BT
FORM: ARS five year old house, all new kitchen | WHU decent place, built about 30 years ago, needs updating
US TV: NBCSN | Worldwide TV listings: livesoccer.tv

For the first time in at least a decade, people can be convinced that the table after the last game of the Premier League season can have the same leader as it does right now. Arsenal come into 2015/16 poised to make their most serious challenge in recent years on several fronts, and it all starts here.

Arsenal are at mostly full strength, of course. Jack Wilshere is out with a minor hair issue, or something, and Alexis is not due to play, but whether he does or not will depend on...Alexis, probably.

West Ham, on the other hand, are facing a season full of a different kind of pressure. They're slated to move into the former Olympic Stadium next season - you know, the one that was supposedly to become England's national athletics (or as we call it, track and field) stadium after the 2012 Games? The all-conquering Premier League monolith quashed that dream right quick, and now West Ham desperately need to retain their Premier League status in order to fill that big ol' stadium every week.

I'm tired of the offseason. I'm glad it's the season. Let's start with three points.

LINEUPS

Arsenal: Cech; Debuchy, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Monreal; Ramsey, Coquelin; Oxlade-Chamberlain, Özil, Cazorla; Giroud
Substitutes: Ospina, Chambers, Gabriel, Gibbs, Arteta, Walcott, Alexis

West Ham: Adrian; Tomkins, Reid, Ogbonna, Cresswell; Oxford; Noble, Kouyate; Payet; Zarate, Sakho
Substitutes: Randolph, Nolan, Jarvis, Collins, Maiga, Poyet, Lanzini