clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boreham Wood vs. Arsenal: match preview, where to watch

Sure it's a mid-July tuneup friendly, but can you blame me for getting excited?

PICTURED: the last game Arsenal played
PICTURED: the last game Arsenal played
Paul Gilham

Boreham Wood vs. Arsenal
Saturday July 19, 2014 | 3pm London, 10am Eastern, 7am Pacific
Meadow Park, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, England
Form: N/A
TV: Arsenal Player

Arsenal's first game of the season is tomorrow.

That's more or less true - technically it's not, really, because it's not a game that will count for anything. It's a tuneup against a team that finished 13th in Conference South last year. Nobody will remember it, or the result, unless something mindboggling happens. Personally I'm hoping it doesn't, as mindboggling friendlies usually turn out negative.

But Arsenal FC players will put on the team's uniform tomorrow and will play soccer against another team, with officials enforcing the rules and recording a score. And we couldn't say that last weekend.

According to the dotcom, we'll actually see players we care about.

Arsène Wenger will choose his squad from players who did not participate in the 2014 World Cup. Wojciech Szczesny, Kieran Gibbs, Tomas Rosicky, Mikel Arteta, Aaron Ramsey, Nacho Monreal, Mathieu Flamini, Yaya Sanogo, Abou Diaby and Carl Jenkinson could all feature.

The FA Cup's going to be there too, by the way. But that has the makings of an actual Arsenal team, even if this is accurate:

I'd assume that means an Actual First Team for the first half, with reserves probably taking the second half. But honestly, if you put Aaron Ramsey on a soccer field and give me the opportunity to watch, I'm going to do it.

PREDICTION: Come on. Arsenal's going to win, and if not who gives a damn? It's July.