clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup, Day 15: Open Thread

New, comments

It's judgement day for the USA (and for the rest of Group G). And there's some intriguing Group H action.

Elsa

How's everyone feeling? Nervous? Amused, because of Luis Suarez's 4-month ban? (Sidenote: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA)

Anyway, it's the final day of the group stage today and there's all to play for in Group G, and quite a lot to play for in Group H.

Group G: 12 PM EDT/9 AM PDT/5 PM BST

United States v Germany
Portugal v Ghana

The USA-Germany match features Per Mertesacker and Mesut Özil, and Lukas Podolski, who all start.

Scenarios:

  • Germany advances and wins the group with a win/draw
  • Germany advances with a loss AND Portugal/Ghana draw OR a loss AND a Portugal/Ghana win provided that goal difference is not made up
  • The USA advances and wins the group with a win
  • The USA advances with a draw
  • The USA advances with a draw AND Portugal/Ghana draw OR a draw and Portugal/Ghana win, provided goal difference isn't made up
  • Portugal advances with a win AND USA loss, provided goal difference is made up
  • Ghana advances with a win AND USA loss, provided goal difference is made up
More Group G scenarios are here.

Group H: 4 PM EDT/1 PM PDT/9 PM BST

Algeria v Russia
South Korea v Belgium

Thomas Vermaelen is injured, so there's no Arsenal presence in any of these games.

Scenarios:

  • Belgium wins the group with a win/draw OR loss AND Algeria loss/draw
  • Algeria advances and wins the group with a win AND Belgium loss.
  • Algeria advances with a win OR a draw AND South Korea draw/loss OR a draw and South Korea wins by less than 3 goals
  • Russia advances with a win AND South Korea draw/loss OR a win AND South Korea fails to win by one more goal than Russia.
  • South Korea advances with a win AND Algeria/Russia draw, provided South Korea wins by three goals and scores three more than Algeria or wins by four goals OR a win AND Russia win, provided South Korea wins by one more goal than Russia