clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup Day Thirteen Open Thread

New, comments

Italy v Uruguay is the headline of an otherwise unremarkable day.

Laurence Griffiths

The last round of group games continue, so figure out how to divide your tv screen into two, or get your laptop at the ready. You might not want to do that until later, though, because one of the early games, England v Costa Rica, will be completely meaningless, with Costa Rica already through and England looking to avoid the utter humiliation of finishing with the same amount of points as Australia.

Group D: 12 PM EDT/9 AM PDT/5 PM BST

Italy vs Uruguay
England vs Costa Rica

The big match here is obviously Italy vs Uruguay: both are on 3 points and only one can qualify. A draw would see Italy through on goal difference; a winning team will qualify, presumably in second place unless there's a thrashing involved in the other match of the day, where Roy Hodgson's eliminated team faces the surprise of the tournament, Costa Rica. Costa Rica need a point to win the group and avoid Colombia. Jack Wilshere will start for England, and one presumes Joel Campbell will start for Costa Rica. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain suffered a minor setback and will take no part.

Group C: 4 PM EDT/1 PM PDT/9 PM BST

Greece v Côte d'Ivoire
Japan v Colombia

Colombia have already qualified, and will likely finish in first even if they lose unless the Côte d'Ivoire wins by four goals. The second place spot in the group is up for grabs, with the following scenarios in place:

  • Colombia finish first with a win or draw
  • Côte d'Ivoire advance with a win or draw combined with a Colombia win/draw or a 1-goal win by Japan
  • Japan advances with a win AND Côte d'Ivoire loss or 2-goal win AND Côte d'Ivoire draw
  • Greece advances with a win AND Japan loss or tie