clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arsenal vs. Fenerbahce, Champions League Playoff Second Leg Match Thread

New, comments
I would like to see this at least once today, please
I would like to see this at least once today, please
Jamie McDonald


Arsenal vs. Fenerbahce
Champions League play-off, second leg
Tuesday, August 27, 2013; 2:45 pm EDT / 11.45 PT / 7:45pm GMT
Emirates Stadium, London
TV: Fox Sports 1, Fox Soccer 2Go

After a weekend in which Arsenal saw off Fulham fairly easily, it's back to things continental with the second leg of the CL play-off against Fenerbahce. Last week, if you'll recall, Club In Crisis FC defeated Fener at home 3-0 in a game that could and should have been about 10-0; Fener were...dire. Unless Fener have become remarkably better in the last six days, I would expect more of the same tonight; Arsenal have found, to put it Wenger-ly, a little bit their sharpness, and they should be able to dismiss Fener fairly easily tonight.

Of course, this being Arsenal, that's not a guarantee - and to reinforce that point, Wenger has already said there'd be no significant squad rotation, so expect much the same in the way of lineup as we saw at the weekend, and no youth infusion, unless Arsenal score one or two in the first half maybe.

Here's hoping for an injury free game, and comfortable passage into the Champions League. Don't forget the rules, kids: Let's leave all talk of/links to illegal streams out of the discussion, let's be cool to each other, and let's not worry about transfer stuff for a couple hours, OK?

LINEUPS:

ARSENAL:
STARTING XI: Szczesny; Jenkinson, Sagna, Mertesacker, Monreal; Ramsey, Wilshere; Walcott, Cazorla, Podolski; Giroud.

SUBSTITUTES: Fabianski, Koscielny, Gibbs, Frimpong, Miyachi, Rosicky, Sanogo

FENERBAHCE:
STARTING XI: Demirel, Korkmaz, Alves, Gönül, Meireles, Cristian, Şahin, Erkin, Sow, Kuyt, Emenike
SUBSTITUTES: Günok, Ali Kaldırım, İrtegün, Potuk, Topuz, Uçan, Webó