clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Premier League announces new Reserve League format

The Premier League has approved a new Reserve League format after receiving feedback from member clubs, according to an Arsenal official website story.  The new format splits the teams into three groups: the Southern (where Arsenal is) and the Northern A & B.  The winners of each group will play each other in a playoff at season's end, with the two Northern winners facing off to see who will face the Southern group winner.

Southern Group Northern Group A Northern Group B
Arsenal Bolton Wanderers Blackburn Rovers
Aston Villa Manchester City Blackpool
Chelsea Manchester United Everton
West Bromwich Albion Newcastle United Liverpool
West Ham United Wigan Athletic Sunderland
Wolverhampton Wanderers