2014 World Cup Day Eight Open Thread

Probably not the image Brazil wanted the world to take from all this - Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Group stage play continues.

Here we are, a week later.  The soccer just keeps coming!

Who's On Today's Docket?

Group C: Colombia vs Cote D'Ivoire - 9AM PT/Noon ET
Group D: Uruguay vs England - Noon PT/3PM ET
Group C: Japan vs Greece - 3PM PT/6PM ET

Who's Going Home Today?

Well, technically nobody, since there's another game left for all these teams.  But in Group C, the early game sees the two leaders face off, and if that game produces a winner that team's pretty much assured of qualification.  If Japan and Greece draw, the early result is probably moot, but if each Group C game produces a winner, second place in the group is definitely up for grabs.

Over in Group D, England need a win in order to have any hope of advancing to their traditional quarterfinal penalty shootout loss.

Anything Else I Need To Know?

Probably? SBNation has you covered!

Is Any Of This Glorious Mess On The TeeVee?

It sure is!  In the US, all three games are on ESPN. All matches are on ITV Player in the UK and on the CBC in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Short Fuse

You must be a member of The Short Fuse to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Short Fuse. You should read them.

Join The Short Fuse

You must be a member of The Short Fuse to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Short Fuse. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker