2014 World Cup Day Three Open Thread

Blatter's ego runs wild as FIFA fields its own team without telling anyone, throwing the groups into chaos - Jamie Squire

The firehose is on! Drink!

Four matches today, so I hope your friends and family understand why they won't see or hear from you today!

World Cup, Eh? Who's Playing?

Group C: Colombia v. Greece, 9AM PT/Noon ET
Group D: Uruguay v. Costa Rica, Noon PT/3PM ET
Group D: England v. Italy, 3PM PT/6PM ET
Group C: Cote d'Ivoire v. Japan, 6PM PT/9PM ET

As someone who doesn't follow the international game with any degree of interest, I have nothing of substance to offer, preview-wise. If you follow one of these teams closely and would like to debrief us on your team's strengths and weaknesses, please do!

If I Only Care About Current Arsenal Players, What Games Should I Watch?

Uruguay v. Costa Rica: Arsenal youngster Joel Campbell plays for Costa Rica.
England v. Italy:  Ox and Jack Wilshere are wearing a combined total of six of the 33 Lions.

If I'm Curious About Ex-Arsenal Players, What Games Should I Watch?

Cote d'Ivoire v. Japan: Kolo Toure and Gervinho are Ivorians Of Interest.

Who's On Arsenal's Shopping List Today?

Suarez is the pipe dream, but it won't happen; Balotelli remains a tasty possibility even if I have my doubts it'll happen.

This Is Good Info, But I Need More! Can You Help Me, SBN?

We'd be glad to!

Colombia vs. Greece: Wide Areas The Key

Uruguay vs. Costa Rica: Can The Last Tournament's Darlings Rise Again?

England vs Italy: Midfield Weaknesses Make For Unpredictable Encounter

Ivory Coast vs. Japan: A Primer For New Fans
(an early leader for Most Patronizing Headline Of The Tournament, right there)

Suarez Not Expected To Start Against Costa Rica

Enough Reading! Where Do I Aim My Eyeballs To See The Games?

In the US, Colombia/Greece and Uruguay/Costa Rica are on ABC, and the other games are on ESPN. They're on ITV Player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Short Fuse

You must be a member of The Short Fuse to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Short Fuse. You should read them.

Join The Short Fuse

You must be a member of The Short Fuse to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Short Fuse. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker